Editorial Staff

Editorial Staff

Red Cross Society Honors Volunteers

You can now listen to Antigua News articles!

Awardees being recognize

By Aabigayle McIntosh

The Antigua and Barbuda Red Cross Society has honored a number of volunteers for their continued contributions to the development of the National Society and its humanitarian imperative, as part of its 82nd-anniversary celebrations.

The humanitarian imperative, according to the society, is a fundamental humanitarian principle that obligates the international community to provide humanitarian assistance wherever it is needed.

The Award Ceremony was hosted by His Excellency, the Governor General of Antigua and Barbuda, Sir Rodney Williams, who also gave his consent for the Award Category.

The Governor General’s Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service to be offered in his name.

Dawn Sanasie received this first honor in recognition and appreciation for the outstanding contributions of devoted volunteers who have played an instrumental role in the development of the ABRCS and in serving our nation.

Other Distinguished Awards include the Judy Labadie Award for Volunteer Service which was received by stalwart humanitarian, Mrs. Era Birk and Ms. Victoria Charlton, and the President’s Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service, which was received by Juliet Hazlewood and Julien Kentish.

The Henry Dunant Award which is named in honor of the founder of the Red Cross Movement was copped by Mr. Jameel Ambrose.

Other categories of awards include; Most Outstanding Youth Volunteer Awards (Adult and Youth), Henry Dunant Award for Volunteer Service, ABRCS First Responder Award, Best Collaborator Award, ABRCS Spotlight Award, Pinnacle Performer Award (Staff Award), Honorary Volunteer Award, Beyond Call of Duty Award, Business Partners Awards, and the first-time President’s Award for Distinguished Volunteer Service.

The Governor General in his remark charged the volunteers to continue their exemplary work.

His Excellency congratulated the Awardees and expressed his deep gratitude and honor as the Patron of the National Society.

The ABRCS President, Dr. J. Humphreys, gave a very stirring and emotional speech which was well-received by a very captive and appreciative audience.

The President expressed how proud he was of the NS’s development over the past year and challenged the awardees to continue to pursue excellence while remaining true at all times to the organization’s Fundamental Principles.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.